playing with pitchers

 

I’ve had two requests for pitchers lately. I haven’t made one since my time at Corning, so I decided to give it a go. I wanted a shape with clean lines that could be functional without a handle. I had a sketch for the shape and dove in.

I should have started by keeping it simple in clear, but color is just too much fun. Halfway through, I realized I had forgotten to make a neck for the pitcher, so my first attempt turned into a nice bowl instead.  The second go around turned out much better, so I decided to forge ahead with another.

The mix of yellow and green didn’t turn out quite as distinctive as I would have liked–but that’s okay because this pitcher doesn’t hold water–literally. With a crack at the base, this third attempt ended up as yard art. The other has been serving iced tea quite nicely.

 

Leave a Reply

