DIY Craft Show Banner

I’m not quite ready to invest in a professionally made sign, but wanted something a little bigger and more durable than the signs I have been using for my craft shows. I’ve also been feeling a bit overwhelmed by all the stuff around me, so Saturday’s outdoor show was great motivation to get to work. Amazingly enough, 100% of what I used came from the craft stash!

I started with a pre-primed 2’ x 3’ floorcloth canvas. I used the outer ring from a 14” quilt hoop (the outer ring from one of my crochet clouds) and a shot glass to outline circle that mirror my current shop logo. Drawing a straight line with a ruler is a challenge for me, so I tools like t-squares are my friend. I didn’t have one, but a brown paper bag was long enough to do the trick as an extra leg to my “t.”

Acrylic paint from my stash was just the right color and I used it to fill in the little circle. I used some left over chalk board paint to make the big one. Two coats of paint on each, and everything was ready for some overnight drying time.

Over everything but the chalkboard circle, I painted a layer of clear gloss polycrylic as a first layer of protection. Some more overnight drying time and it was time for grommets!

I thought hand lettering my shop name on the banner would be fun—thus the chalkboard paint. My first go at it for the DC Meet Market didn’t turn out quite as visible as I would have liked, but overall, it turned out well. And since Saturday was rather rainy, I had a more durable banner just in time!

 

One thought on “DIY Craft Show Banner

  1. Pingback: Countdown to Chicago: seven days to go « Wunder Around

Leave a Reply

