Artomatic: Installation

Artomatic–DC’s biggest creative event–opened on Friday. Before sharing the details of what you’ll see in my space on the second floor, I thought I’d share a bit from installation. The good news was, with 11 floors to choose from, space was not really an issue. I found an open wall in a nice window-filled room. Time to make it my own.

First up, was paint. My display would primarily feature my blown glass trees, so I thought a nice light blue would do well as a “sky” backdrop. I’d also be including crochet, so I took my favorite dark blue piece with me to the store and stuck it in the little paint scanner to try to make a match.

Most of it ended up on the walls!

Next up was placement of my shelves.

And lettering for my wall.

And help from my husband to hang the shelves.

While the glass was done a few days before, on the last day of installation I was still finishing my crochet. The very last piece was finished on site.

But it all came together in the end.

I’ll share more on the pieces themselves in a later post along with scenes of the floors and floors of awesomeness that everyone else has created. In the meantime, you can check out my space in person on the 2nd floor, NW corner office, Space 120 at Artomatic through June 23. Directions, hours and more are available on the website. You can also see me in person Saturday, June 9 from  1:00 to 6:00 pm at the Art-to-Go Marketplace. And I’ll be hanging out in space 120 from 7:00 to 8:00 pm that same day.

One thought on “Artomatic: Installation

  1. Pingback: Artomatic: what’s on display « Wunder Around

Leave a Reply

