Knit and Crochet Design Week: Day 1, Sketches

For the past few months I’ve enjoyed trying my hand once again at crochet. I’ve made lots of blocks (that I have yet to join together), crocheted small pieces to accompany my glass and had fun making little hearts and flowers to share with others.

At the same time in the glass studio I’ve been creating blown glass “trees” that I hope to combine into my own mini “forest.” They can be a bit abstract on their own, so when I saw that Stacey Trock was organizing Knit and Crochet Design Week (March 12-17), I decided it was time to put two and two together. The week encourages knitters and crocheters to “set aside 30 minutes a day to: work on designing, share your progress and learn from fellow designers.”

After learning in-person from others, I’m just beginning to decipher written crochet patterns on my own and am eternally grateful when I find a great photo-laden or video tutorial online. So the concept of designing my own crochet project this week may be a big stretch, but here goes.

The theme for day one (today!) is sketches. I’m setting out to make a meadow for my trees…with a path through one side…

And perhaps a a few boulders along the edge.

Tomorrow’s theme: techniques.

10 thoughts on “Knit and Crochet Design Week: Day 1, Sketches

  1. Pingback: Knit and Crochet Design Week: Day 2, Techniques « Wunder Around

  2. Pingback: Knit and Crochet Design Week: Day 3, Yarn « Wunder Around

  3. Pingback: Knit and Crochet Design Week: Day 4, Progress « Wunder Around

  4. Pingback: Knit and Crochet Design Week: Day 5, Challenges « Wunder Around

  5. Pingback: Knit and Crochet Design Week: Day 6, What’s Next « Wunder Around

  6. Pingback: Knit and Crochet Design Week: Trees! « Wunder Around

Leave a Reply

