finding center

The glass studio was closed for much of the month of August for yearly maintenance. As the prospect of studio “downtown” stretched its way into September, I was itching for a creative challenge and signed myself up for a pottery class. The first class focused on conditioning the clay and “finding center” with it on the wheel. As the mantra while glassblowing is, “keep it on center,” I felt at home despite the strange new medium.

As my first pottery class and two plus hours of creative concentration drew to a close, I also realized how much glass has been centering me over the past year while I worked to center it. I’m hoping clay fills that void during the downtime.

 

Leave a Reply

