bit of sun

The last few weeks at the glass studio have been hot. I mean really HOT. Like 100 degrees outside hot. That makes the temperatures inside, with a 2,000 degree furnace roaring, rather toasty. I think that inspired me to make a bit of sun to complement my blue “globes.” The last time I tried to combine two colors of frit (blue and green), I ended up with teal. I decided to give it another go with some roma red transparent and narcissus frits.

This time around, I applied each color a bit more loosely and sandwiched them between clear. The extra layers made the piece a bit bigger/heavier than I’ve been used to working with, but color separation worked!

It’s kind of like holding a ball of sunshine.

2 thoughts on “bit of sun

  1. Pingback: Earth II « Wunder Around

  2. Pingback: Out of this world! « Wunder Around

Leave a Reply

